Categories, Grief Journey, Parenting After Loss

The Blue Shoes

When I found out I was pregnant again I fantasized about the possibility of shopping for little boy clothing. I couldn’t wait to put him in a little button down onesie with suspenders or a bow tie. After finding out Ezra was a boy I went out and bought about five pieces of clothing that I thought would be perfect for him. Unfortunately, Ezra was never able to wear any of his clothing though because he was too small.
After Ezra passed away we decided that we would get new outfits for each of us for his funeral. Most importantly, I needed to find the perfect outfit for Arya. It was one of the few things that I could do for Ezra, and in a way it was an outfit I was picking out for him. Although, I was shopping in the girls section I thought of him the entire time I searched for a little dress for his big sister to wear. We went to many stores before I finally found the perfect outfit. I found a beautiful blue dress and matching blue shoes. I was so happy to find the perfect outfit for my sweet little Ezra.
Each time I would open my daughter’s closet I would see the little blue shoes there and instantly think of Ezra. Months have gone by and it has almost been 11 months since I bought that little blue dress and shoes. A few weeks ago I decided I needed to go through Arya’s wardrobe and shoe collection to take out anything that doesn’t fit any longer. I finally got to the little blue shoes and sat and stared at them. I knew they were too small for her feet but I couldn’t handle putting them away in storage. I decided to put them in my office/Ezra’s room and they have been there ever since.
Each time I walk in the room I look at those little blue shoes and instantly think about my little boy. Even though they are shoes that Arya wore, they are the shoes I bought for my sweet Ezra.

DSC00973 (2)

 

Leave a comment